Youth Excellence and Achievement Award (YEA! Award)

The Board of County Commissioners created the YEA! Awards in 2010 to recognize Hillsborough County students for making a difference in their community. The award recipients show initiative, innovation, and commitment to themselves and others, while pursuing excellence in a leadership capacity. This can be demonstrated in academics, community service, athletics, performing arts, conservation, or other areas.

The County's Commission on the Status of Women reviews the nominations, and the Board of County Commissioners presents the awards at a Board meeting each spring.

YEA! Award Categories

  • Leadership: Demonstrating positive impact on others in an ongoing endeavor, such as sports, academics, or the arts
  • Success Despite Difficult Odds: Overcoming tremendous personal difficulty to attain success and to make a positive impact on others
  • Volunteer or Community Service: Allocating discretionary time to help others or complete a project that has improved our community

YEA! Awards winners were recognized during the 2017 YEA! Awards Presentation Ceremony on May 3. 

2017 Award Winners


  • Kyla Clewis
    Liberty Middle School
  • Benjamin Bryant
    Freedom High School

Success Despite Difficult Odds:

  • Ian Farmer
    Buchanan BioEngineering Academy
  • Guadalupe Villegas
    Lennard High School

Volunteer or Community Service:

  • Ava Isabella Moreno
    Progress Village Middle Magnet School
  • Sydney Bagrowski
    Armwood High School

View the YEA! Awards Video