At Your Service 24/7
Go To Search
Commission on the Status of Women
This Commission was created to study and make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners on issues pertaining to the status of women, including; discrimination, employment, education, day care, and health care. These recommendations are presented as comprehensive reports to the Board and distributed to the public and interested parties.


The membership of this board shall be appointed by the BOCC and shall be comprised of 15 members. Composition is as follows:

  • Hillsborough County Commissioners - one member each

The Board of Directors of the following organizations shall each provide a nomination to the BOCC:

  • The Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce
  • The Helen Gordon Davis Centre for Women
  • League of Women Voters of Hillsborough County
  • The Spring of Tampa Bay, Inc.
  • Hispanic Professional Women's Association, Inc.
  • National Council of Negro Women
  • University of South Florida
  • Hillsborough Community College

Members shall serve four year terms.

Board of County Commissioner's Resolution R-03-74; as amended by R-04-174; as amended by R07-059; and as amended by Resolution No. R13-171.

At least ten times a year.
County Center
601 E. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602

COSW Fall Newsletter

Hillsborough County Commission on the Status of Women's
"Mandate for Women's Wellness"

Equal Pay Day Press Conference - April 14, 2015, Joe Chillura Park:
Women cannot wait another 50 years for pay-day equality

CommMurmanBecknerYFryEqualPayevent4-14-2015.png GroupswithProcEqualPayevent4-14-2015.png
(Pictured from left to right) Commissioner Kevin Beckner; Commissioner Sandra Murman (Chair, Hillsborough County Commission); and Yvonne Fry (Chair, Commission on the Status of Women) (Pictured from left to right) Shirley Arcuri, Stacy Frank, Chloe Coney, Hon. Pat Frank, Denise Chavez, Deborah Cox-Roush, Susan Leisner, Yvonne Fry, Kim DeBosier, Jennifer Whelihan, Geraldine Twine, India Witte, Dot Skipper, Jessica Rivelli.
More Equal Pay Day Press Conference Photos

Proclamation presented by commissioner Lesley “Les” Miller, Jr., on behalf of the Board of County Commissioners, proclaiming the month of March 2014 as Woman’s History Month to honor the contributions made by women in Hillsborough County and across the nation.

(In photo from left to right)
Ms. Jeanette Fenton, City of Tampa Urban Development Manager
Ms. Yvonne Fry, Commission on the Status of Women Chair
Commissioner Les Miller;
Ms. Mindy Murphy, Commission on the Status of Women;
Ms. Alison M. Fernandez, Temple Terrace City Council


Member Position / Appointed By Dates of Service
Ms. Ashley Carl
Hillsborough Community College Representative
Ms. Denise Chavez Commissioner Sandra Murman 12/29/2011- 12/31/2018*
Ms. Linda D'Aquila The League of Women Voters 09/02/2009-
Ms. Kimberlee DeBosier
Chamber of Commerce
Ms. Stacy Frank Commissioner Kevin Beckner 06/23/2014-
Ms. Yvonne Fry Commissioner Al Higginbotham 02/09/2009-
Ms. Connie Gage Commissioner Victor Crist 10/28/2013-
Ms. Dotti Groover-Skipper Commissioner Ken Hagan 05/18/2005-
Ms. Susan Leisner Commissioner Stacy R. White 05/21/2003-
Ms. Ann Madsen The Helen Gordon Davis Centre for Women 09/02/2015-
Ms. Mindy Murphy The Spring of Tampa Bay, Inc. 06/27/2012-
Ms. Ann Porter Commissioner Lesley "Les" Miller, Jr. 12/22/2010 -
Ms. Tempress (Tee) Solomon National Council of Negro Women 07/15/2015-
Ms. Jennifer Whelihan Hispanic Professional Women's Association, Inc. 07/17/2013-
Ms. India Witte University of South Florida 08/06/2014-

* Reappointment

Contact Information
Renee Warmack
Special Projects Coordinator
Operations and Legislative Affairs 
26th FL, County Center