Gulf Fritillary
Go To Search
Meeting Info
Upcoming Meetings & Locations
Agendas & Meeting Information
Related Projects in Other Areas
Supporting Documents

Youth Outreach Survey
Information About the Survey
Parent Letter

Encuesta de participacion de la Juventud
Acerca de la encuesta
Información para Padres
Safe & Sound Hillsborough
Group Photo
Left to right: Court Administrator Mike Bridenback*; Public Defender Julianne Holt; Temple Terrace Mayor Frank Chillura; Temple Terrace City Manager Gerald Seeber*; School Board member Cindy Stuart*; School Board Chair April Griffin; Commissioner Kevin Beckner (Chair); Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn (Vice Chair); Assistant State Attorney Karen Stanley*; Chief Judge Manny Menendez; Colonel Donna Lusczynski*; Plant City Assistant City Manager Bill McDaniel*; and Plant City Mayor Mary Thomas Mathis (*=Alternates).

Seeking a Safe & Sound Coordinator
Safe & Sound Hillsborough is seeking a Coordinator to guide the implementation of the strategic plan. Read the description of the position, along with an announcement outlining the process for applying. Please note the deadline for submitting your resume is October 24!

Coordinator Position Description
Coordinator Position Announcement
Coordinator Process Timeline

Youth Outreach Survey

About the Survey | Survey Instrument | Parent Letter

Acerca de la encuestainspeccionar | Información para Padres

The Hillsborough County Community Violence Prevention Collaborative was created in the summer of 2013 as an initiative to transform the way local policy makers address violence. This initiative shifts policy from a public safety to a public health model and aligns community and professional stakeholders to develop a comprehensive prevention and intervention approach.


  • Public Safety / Judiciary
  • Health Care
  • Education
  • Community-based Organizations
  • Faith Community

The purpose of these Subcommittees is to provide focus and develop specific recommendations in key areas to the Steering Committee which is composed of the Leadership Council and Subcommittee Chairs.

Initially, each of the following agencies, which make up the Leadership Council, will appoint five Subcommittee members:

  • Hillsborough County Commissioners
  • Mayor of Plant City
  • Mayor of Tampa
  • Mayor of Temple Terrace
  • Hillsborough County Sheriff
  • Hillsborough County School Board
  • Hillsborough County State Attorney
  • Hillsborough County Public Defender
  • 13th Judicial Circuit Chief Judge

Members will serve a one year term.

BOCC approval, April 3, 2013, BOCC Mtg, Item B3

Monthly, Location to be determined.
Meeting Information


Member Position / Appointed By Dates of Service
Leadership Council
Kevin Beckner    
Bob Buckhorn    
Frank Chillura    
April Griffin    
Julianne Holt    
Col. Donna Lusczynski    
Bill McDaniel    
Manuel Menendez, Jr.    
Michael Sinacore    
Steering Committee
Kevin Beckner Chair  
Bob Buckhorn Vice Chair  
Mike Bridenback    
Frank Chillura    
April Griffin    
Chakita Hargrove    
Steve Hegarty    
Julianne Holt    
Dan Jurman    
Donna Lusczynski    
Bill McDaniel    
Walter Niles    
Kelley Parris    
Karen Pesce, RN    
Bob Sheehan    
Mike Sinacore    
Communications Committee
J. D. Calloway    
Mark Cox    
Michael Dunn    
Ali Glisson    
Nicole Hanscom    
Steve Hegarty    
Anette Spina    
Jeff Stidman    
Community Based Organizations
David Braughton    
Michael Brown    
Dr. Carolyn Collins    
Darrell Daniels    
Ronald Govin    
Susan Johnson-Velez    
Margaret Laing    
Lance Lansrud    
Andrea Layne    
Major Montoute    
Mindy Murphy    
Kelley Parris    
Constance Rose    
Lee Williams    
Data Collection Committee
John Chaffin    
Jeff Eakins    
Mark Hudson    
Kelly Kelley    
Jamie Robe    
Sally Sanders    
Bob Sheehan    
Angie Smith    
Yvette Boatwright    
Karen Buckenheimer    
Dr. Martha Coulter    
Carol Dell    
Ron Gale    
Dr. Kathleen Heide    
Mark Hutek    
Charles Mendez    
Nanci Newton    
Dean Pietruszkiewicz    
MSgt. Laura Regan    
Dr. Larry Sykes    
Faith Community
Djamila Abdel-Jaleel    
Robert Blount    
Pastor Calvin Callins    
Pastor Ted Fielland    
Maj. Curtis Flowers    
Chakita Hargrove    
Antonio Hawkins    
Tonya S. Muhammad    
Rita Peters    
Maxine Woodside    
Health Care
Lorie Cura    
Judge Espinosa    
Dr. Bryanna Fox    
Frank Jones    
Karen Kerr    
Joan Montagno    
Jane Murphy    
Walter Niles    
Dr. Maria Russ    
Joe Rutherford    
Dr. Nicole Shiber    
Frank Strom    
Dr. Beth Weaver    
Dr. Jason Wilson    
Public Safety / Judiciary
Joan Boles    
Judge Campbell    
Douglas Covington    
David Friedberg    
Daniel Jurman    
Stephen Koch    
Marvin Knight    
Cpt. Tracy Mishler    
Cpt. Susan Pruet    
Patricia Waterman    
Cpt. Scott Wellinger    


  • 09/12/2013 - Violence Prevention Collaboration Meeting

Contact Information
Lynne Tierney
Staff Liaison
813-264-3807 Ext. 53108