Theodore Roosevelt Hillsborough Forever Conservation Award

Hillsborough County Commissioners established the Theodore Roosevelt Hillsborough Forever Conservation Award to be given annually to an individual or group who exemplifies dedication to preserving the County’s natural resources.

Nominating procedures

Nominees must live or work in Hillsborough County and “be someone who shows persistence and dedication to long-term conservation of the County’s natural resources, demonstrates integrity in performance toward conservation goals, and displays attributes of true conservation stewardship,’’ according to the award criteria.

Nominations must be made by 5 p.m. on Feb. 28, 2019. Submit your nominations online or by email to Ross Dickerson, or by mail at Hillsborough County Environmental Lands Management, 10940 McMullen Road, Riverview FL 33569. Call (813) 672-7876 for more information.

Selection process

  1. The Jan K. Platt ELAPP Sub-committee meets to send its selection recommendation to the general committee
  2. The General Committee will send a recommendation to the Board of County Commissioners for approval
  3. The Board will make the final selection and hold an awards ceremony in the Spring to coincide with National Arbor Day

2018 Award Recipient

The Theodore Roosevelt Hillsborough Forever Conservation Award - Jan K. Platt Environmental Lands Acquisition and Protection Program award winner for 2018:


For more information email Ross Dickerson or call (813) 672-7876.