Anti-Bullying Advisory Committee

This Committee was created to provide advice and recommendations to curb and eliminate all forms of bullying throughout Hillsborough County, Florida.

Documents and useful links


The membership of this Committee shall be appointed by the BOCC and shall be comprised of 13 members. Composition is specified as follows:

Seven members will represent the following governing bodies:

  • City of Tampa Police Department, designated by the Chief
  • Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Department, designated by the Sheriff
  • Florida Department of Children and Families, designated by Regional Director
  • Hillsborough County School Board
  • Hillsborough County Children’s Services Department psychologist or mental health counselor, designated by the Director
  • University of South Florida College of Education or the Louis de la Parte Mental Health Institute, designated by President of USF
  • Department of Juvenile Justice Hillsborough County Neighborhood Accountability Board in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, designated by Director of Court Programs

Six members shall represent the following categories:

  • 2 - Child welfare advocacy organization such as Guardian Ad Litem, Parent Teacher Association, Parent Teacher Organization, Boys and Girls Club, Joshua House, YMCA, YWCA, or other such organizations
  • Private sponsor(s) selected to participate with the County in the Anti-Bullying initiative
  • An organization who works directly with troubled youth such as those with emotional or mental handicaps
  • 2 - Members at-large


Members shall serve three year terms; initially staggered. Governing body representatives shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing body or person.

Special requirements:

Subject to F.S. 286.011, also known as the Sunshine Law.
Appointment to this Committee is contingent upon passing a criminal background check.


BOCC Resolution No. R09-100, adopted August 5, 2009.


Every other month, 4th Thursday, 10:00 a.m.
Florida Department of Children and Families
Suncoast Region Office
9393 N. Florida Avenue
Tampa, FL 33612


Eva Dyer
Program Coordinator
County Center, 24th Floor
601 E. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: (813) 276-2033


Member Position Dates of Service
Mr. Thomas Avino Private Sponsor Participating in the Anti-Bullying Initiative 02/21/2018 -
Ms. Annabelle Begg BOCC - Child Welfare Advocacy Organization 05/16/2018 -
Ms. Lauretta Blake BOCC - At-Large Member 03/01/2017 -
Ms. Tanly Cabrera
HC Public Schools
Ms. Roxanne Council Florida Department of Children and Families
Ms. Ashley Lord BOCC - Child Welfare Advocacy Organization 03/01/2017 -
Dr. Tom Massey University of South Florida
Ms. Maggie Pines
Department of Juvenile Justice - 13th Judicial Circuit
Ms. Abeba Salter-Woods BOCC - At-Large Member 10/21/2015 -
Ms. Angie Toledo Vazquez  BOCC - Representative from an organization that works directly with troubled youth 08/16/2017 -
Ms. Jeannie Willsie
Hillsborough County Children's Services Department Representative
  City of Tampa Police Department  
  Hillsborough County Sheriff's Department