Independent Oversight Committee


To ensure that the Transportation Surtax is successfully implemented and to provide independent oversight of the distribution and expenditure of the Transportation Surtax proceeds.

Member Appointed By:

Membership shall be composed of Hillsborough County residents appointed by the following bodies:

  • Hillsborough County Commissioners – 4 members of which 2 are *Experts in either transportation, planning, sustainability, engineering, or construction;
  • City of Plant City Mayor – 1 member;
  • City of Tampa Mayor – 1 member;
  • City of Temple Terrace Mayor – 1 member;

One additional member from each Municipality for each 200,000 residents in such Municipality, approved by the legislative body of that Municipality, based on population estimates published annually by the State of Florida.

  • HART Board of Directors – 2 members;
  • Hillsborough County Clerk of Circuit Court and Comptroller – 1 attorney who is a member of the Florida Bar;
  • Hillsborough County Property Appraiser – 1 land use or real estate *Expert;
  • Hillsborough County Tax Collector – 1 certified public accountant.

*Expert means an individual who has at least seven years of experience in their respective subject matter area, and possesses professional accreditations or degrees that are typical of an expert in their respective subject area.

Special Requirements:

Financial disclosure required.

No one currently serving as an elected official or appointed city, county, special district, state or federal public office holder shall be eligible to serve as a member of the Independent Oversight Committee.

No member of the IOC may be an employee of, independent contractor of, or otherwise be materially engaged for remuneration by any public or private recipient of Surtax Proceeds.


Members shall serve three year terms, without compensation, and shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing body.


County Charter Amendment, XI. Surtax for Transportation Improvements, Section 11.10 Independent Oversight Committee.

Meeting Time and Place:

Meeting Information

Members Appointed by Hillsborough County Commissioners

Member Position / Appointed By Dates of Service
Mr. Chip Fletcher
Mr. Robert Hunter
Resident with Expertise
Ms. Vanetta Kilpatrick
Ms. Audrey Moore
Resident with Expertise