Planning Commission

The Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission is an independent consolidated planning agency, lead by appointed citizens, which serves all the citizens of Hillsborough County by providing a vision for improving the quality of life. The Planning Commission and its staff serve as agents within the community to promote and coordinate the involvement of all people in comprehensive long-range planning, growth management, transportation, and environmental protection. The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners, Tampa City Council, Plant City Commission, and Temple Terrace City Council regarding land use, community planning, capital improvements, urban design, and other comprehensive issues.


  • The membership of this Commission shall be appointed as follows:
  • Hillsborough County Commissioners - 4 members
  • City of Tampa - 4 members
  • City of Temple Terrace - 1 member
  • City of Plant City - 1 member
  • Ex-Officio - 2 members


Members shall serve four year terms.

Special Requirements:

  • Annual financial disclosure required.
  • Unincorporated residency required.
  • Members appointed to this board will be required to take an Oath of Office and sign a Standards of Conduct.


Chapter 97-351, Laws of Florida.


Monthly, 2nd Monday, 2 PM
County Center, 18th Floor
601 E. Kennedy Blvd
Tampa, FL 33602


Sharon Snyder, Executive Assistant
Planning Commission
601 E. Kennedy Blvd., 18th floor
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: (813) 565-9316



Member Position Dates of Service
Mr. Derek Doughty Board of County Commissioners 09/17/2008 -
Ms. Vivienne Handy
Board of County Commissioners 02/03/2021 -
Mr. Nigel Joseph Board of County Commissioners 10/21/2015 -
Mr. Cody Powell Board of County Commissioners 10/03/2018 -
Mr.John Dicks City of Plant City 10/01/2017 -
Mr. Steven Bernstein  City of Tampa   
Ms. Giovanny Cardenas
City of Tampa  
Ms. Karen Kress City of Tampa 10/01/2017 -
Mr. Michael Maurino City of Tampa 10/01/2017 -
Evangeline Linkous City of Temple Terrace 02/02/2021 -
Ms. Amber Dickerson Ex-Officio Member / School District  
Mr. Tony Rodriguez Ex-Officio Member / MacDill AFB