Hillsborough County Presents Youth Excellence and Achievement Awards (YEA! Awards)

Hillsborough County, Fla. (June 16, 2022) - The Hillsborough County Board of County Commissioners recognized six outstanding young people Wednesday, June 15, as the Board presented its Youth Excellence and Achievement Awards (YEA! Awards) during its regular meeting.

The YEA! Awards recognize three middle school and three high school students in Hillsborough County who display initiative, innovation, and commitment to themselves and others, while pursuing leadership excellence.

YEA! Awards categories:

· Success Despite Difficult Odds - Overcoming personal difficulty to attain success and make a positive impact on others
· Leadership - Demonstrating a positive impact on others in an ongoing endeavor, such as sports, academics, or the arts
· Volunteer or Community Service - Allocating discretionary time to help others or completing a project that improves the community

This year's YEA! Awards recipients are:

Success Despite Difficult Odds
Jae'Shaun Santos, Franklin Boys Preparatory School
Kevin Ibarias Nanez, Sumner High School

Brenna McGuire, Tinker Middle School
Ashton Kitchiner, Newsome High School

Volunteer or Community Service
Benjamin Mallin, Coleman Middle School
Emily Moore-Shrieves, Bloomingdale High School

About the YEA! Awards

The YEA! Awards were created in 2010 to recognize Hillsborough County students for making a difference in their communities through leadership in academics, community service, athletics, performing arts, conservation, and other areas.

For more information about the YEA! Awards, go to



No tags